Monday, October 21, 2019

Call to Action: Taxpaying Immigrant Families Under Attack

Congress is considering a policy this week that will put a burden on over 5 million immigrant children across the country. By getting rid of the Child Tax Credit for families who pay taxes with an Individual Tax Identification Number, they hope to offset the cost of extending the payroll tax holiday.

These immigrant families, who are already struggling to provide for their children, will lose $1,800 of much-needed tax credits.

Congress is on the edge of denying this tax credit to immigrant and mixed-status families, regardless of the fact that they paid their fair share in taxes.

Please ask your Representatives to oppose any changes in eligibility for the Child Tax Credit.

In addition, you are invited to join tomorrow’s State of Play call, where you’ll be able to hear from Senate Majority Leader Harry Reid’s office and other experts to learn what the proposed changes to the Child Tax Credit may mean to taxpaying immigrant families, and what actions we must take.

The call will take place on Wednesday, February 1st at 2:00 PM EST (1pm CST/12pm MST/11am PST). Please call 1-800-895-0198 to participate (conference code: Protect Children).

Sincerely,

The Latinovations Team

Reform Immigration for America